How to Add Google Sitemap to WordPress.com Blog?

Update: Although the following method works for me, it gives me some errors occasionally. Now I submit sitemap.xml to Google Webmaster Tools account. Since then I’ve never got errors and 100% URLs have been indexed so far. Maybe this is the best way to go.

Adding your blog/website’s feed to Google Webmaster Tools account is one way people believe will help Googlebot crawling your blog/website efficiently. If you own a WordPress.com blog like me and want to add a feed to Google Webmaster Tools account, then you may find the following steps useful:

  • Find out your feed’s URL from Feed Validator here, where URL means a World Wide Web address.
  • Your feed’s URL should look like this http://yoursitename.wordpress.com/feed or http://yoursitename.wordpress.com/?feed=atom, where yoursitename should be replaced with your own domain name. I submitted both and both of them work fine for me.
  • Go to Google Wesmaster Tools account. If you do not have one, you can sign up a Free one here.
  • Click on the button Add a site… to add your blog URL first if it is your first time you login to your Google Webmaster Tools account.
  • Under Sitemap click on Add
  • A new screen will show up. Click on Add a Sitemap
  • Choose type… Add General Web Sitemap
  • Enter feed or ?feed=atom in #3. If you want to add both, make sure you add one at a time.
  • Click on the button Add General Web Sitemap to submit it.

Now you have to wait for Google to update your status. If no error shows up, then congratulations! You have successfully added your blog’s feed to Google Webmaster Tools account. Check it out regularly to make sure everything is OK.

Would you like to add Google sitemap to a WordPress.com blog? Why or why not? Please leave a comment below.

Related articles
Sitemap? What is it? How to add it to our website?
How to Get Your WordPress.com Blog Verified By Google?

42 responses to “How to Add Google Sitemap to WordPress.com Blog?

  1. Pingback: Submit Your WordPress.com Blog to Yahoo! « My Internet Stuff

  2. Pingback: How Fast Google and Yahoo! Indexed My New Blog! « My Internet Stuff

  3. Pingback: How to Get Your WordPress.com Blog Verified By Google? « My Internet Stuff

  4. Pingback: Sitemap? What is it? How to add it to our website? | Exploring The Internet

  5. Pingback: Generate Your HTML Sitemap Using Free Sitemap Generators Online « My Internet Stuff

  6. Serve to get served

    Actually, Feed or ?Feed=atom does NOT work as a Sitemap in Google Webmaster Tools for WordPress.

    Simple use “rss”, it works. See the example below.

    http://yourblogname.wordpress.com/rss

    and simply submit it. That’s all!

  7. Hi;

    Thanks for visiting and leaving comment here.

    Actually feed and ?feed=atom DO work as a Sitemap in Google Webmaster Tools for me. But occasionally I got errors. So now I just submitted a sitemap.xml to Google Webmaster Tools account. Since then I’ve never got errors.

  8. ok good articole but with ” Verify a Site ” with google176e…… or meta tag ? this is not necessary ?

  9. This has solved a problem I’ve been worrying about for days. Thanks.

  10. thanks much, been looking for a while for this

  11. Pingback: Wordpress.com: Submitting a Sitemap for Google Webmaster Tools 101 « TechGap

  12. 10x dude, i try this 🙂

    keep blogging !

  13. Pingback: Submit Your Blog/Website to MSN? How? « My Internet Stuff

  14. how do errors affect your indexing? Also how do I go about fixing things such as date errors. you can click the link in my name to see an example of what I am talking about something with the date being d m, yyyy is messing it up but I dont know how to change it because its a template thing.

    • “how do errors affect your indexing? Also how do I go about fixing things such as date errors”

      If you are using a WordPress.com blog, you don’t have any privilege to access to your sitemap.xml file.

  15. Ok, but how to Verify a Site ??

  16. great article 🙂

  17. Pingback: How to Promote Your Website/Blog? « My Internet Stuff

  18. Thanks, was very helpful!

  19. thanks for info,,,i try to google submit it to gwebmaster tool

  20. Wow! great info, only thing I would add is that on wordpress.com you can go into your admin tools and then add in the google validation and yahoo validation so that you don’t have to mess with this for hours trying to figure out how to validate it. http://alwaysdeveloping.wordpress.com

  21. great.. it worked.. i just submitted my sitemap in seconds.. thanks for your help.. simple and easy 🙂

  22. Thank you for post it. My problem have solved. 🙂 I try it to my blog.

  23. It is so helpful for me. I have been looking for this solution several weeks. Thank you

  24. Normally I would really like this post, however have just found out WordPress.com already generates a site map according to the sitemap.org guidelines and submits it to google. (See link below!)

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/sitemaps/#xml-sitemaps-for-search-engines

    I have seen my sitemap.xml file when logged in only and it says it is generated by wordpress.com

    • Thanks for pointing out of this. But this post was written in 2008, back then it didn’t have this functionality provided. Now it makes easier for bloggers who use WordPress.com.

  25. Very informative and interesting stuff! Thank you.

  26. Your instructions were perfect, cheers!

  27. REally great hint to submit site to google;…
    there are too many things to do after install fresh wordpress blog , this is one of that

  28. I’m extremely impressed together with your writing abilities as smartly as with the layout to your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a great blog
    like this one these days..

  29. Thank you for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further
    write ups thanks once again.

Leave a Reply

