How to Get Your WordPress.com Blog Verified By Google?

Update (8/12/10):
Okay here is a good news for anyone who tries to get a WordPress.com blog verified by Google. Thanks to @frannie84 who pointed out in her comment that now you can login to your blog’s dashboard, click on tools/tools to submit your blog to Google Webmaster Tools, Yahoo! Site Explorer, and Bing Webmaster Center. Enjoy! :)

A couple weeks ago, I wrote a post, How to Add Google Sitemap to WordPress.com Blog?, which showed you how you can submit your blog’s feed to Google Webmaster Tools account. Now you might wonder how you can get your WordPress.com blog verified by Google too. It seems it is impossible to do that because we don’t have controls of our files; but hope is always there. The article, Get your WordPress.com Blog Google Verified, will guide you the way of how to do that. Still I want to show you the way I got my WordPress.com blog verified here:

  • Once you got one; sign in with it.
  • If this is the first time you sign in, then type your blog’s/website’s URL (the address for your blog/website) in the text field and click on Add Site.
  • Under Verified? Click on the button Verify.
  • A new window is shown; saying Verification Status: NOT VERIFIED.
  • In the drop-down list; choose Upload a HTML File.
  • More information will be shown here. You have two choices to submit your blog/website:
  1. I’ve created a file named google2ae4cd3d07afcb8a.html.
  2. I’ve uploaded the file to http://yoursitename.wordpress.com/ and can view http://yoursitename.wordpress.com/google2ae4cd3d07afcb8a.html in my browser.

(google2ae4cd3d07afcb8a.html is given by Google. You’ll get your own)
(Make sure you replace yoursitename with your own domain name.)

  • Since you know we don’t have controls of our files; so we’ll go for the choice 1.
  • Go to your WordPress.com dashboard, click on Pages/Add New to create a new page named http://yoursitename.wordpress.com/google2ae4cd3d07afcb8a.html. This page can be empty. Make sure you change yoursitename to be your own domain name. (Keep it private once Google has verified your blog/website)

Now wait for Google to update your status. Google Webmaster Tools will inform you once your blog/website are being verified. After you’ve succeeded, you will enjoy reports about your pages’ visibility on Google.

Would you like to get your WordPress.com blog verified by Google? Why or why not? Please leave a comment below.

47 responses to “How to Get Your WordPress.com Blog Verified By Google?

  1. Pingback: How to Add Google Sitemap to WordPress.com Blog? « My Internet Stuff

  2. Ah! Directions in plain English….

    Thank you very much for this!

  3. Doesn’t work for wordpress.com pages.

    How can you create a page like that? I’m not allowed to do that on my blog.

  4. Hello Anonyjw,
    I checked your blog. It does provide pages such as About and Comment? So you can create a new page the same way you’ve created Comment? page. More specifically you click on Write/Page on your WordPress.com Dashboard to create a new page and save it as http://yoursitename.wordpress.com/google2ae4cd3d07afcb8a.html where you have to change yoursitename to be your own blog name and google2ae4cd3d07afcb8a.html  to be your own file name which is given by Google Webmaster Tool Account. It should work.

  5. Serve to get served

    Very nice indeed. Well done! man. Great Job :)

  6. Keeping the google page private doesn’t seem to work – I followed your instructions exactly, and in fact my site was verified. Then I changed the page back to private, and after a few days, it became un-verified again.
    Just re-verified it, and am now trying with keeping the page “pending approval”. I hope that works …

  7. Hello Debizyx;
    Is your website being verified again? You can leave the new page in the public if you want. Personally I think it doesn’t look good there. That is why I keep it private.

    Yes. Every time when you see ‘verified’ in Google Webmaster Tool, then you need to verify it again. I’ve been successful every time when it was required for that.

  8. ta da. I did it, 1st try.

  9. thank you for the trick, my site is now verified and I let the verification page public.

  10. hi I have just registered a blog.

    http://factfundas.com

    Here when i upload the page is stored in the wp-content/upload directroy. So whey i try to verify. Google Webmaster is unable to verify. Can somebody tell me how can i verify the site in this case.

  11. Hello Ashish;
    Your blog address is not working.
    Is this a self-hosted WordPress blog?

    If this is your case, you can choose choice 2 (from above). Get the verified code from Google and paste it between <head> </header> in header.php which should be in the template’s folder that you are using (in your server). For example, mine looks like this: public_html/wp/wp-content/themes/classic

    You can access that file through FTP or log in to your WordPress dashboard. After you edited that file, uploaded it back to the same folder. Hope that helps. Let me know how it is going.

  12. Great & Thanks a lot, it worked

  13. Brian Sullivan

    Thankyou so much, I had been frustrated over the site map problem for ages. brilliant advice!

  14. I hope you ca help. I appreciate these instructions but I’m having an issue. When I save the page it adds a whole bunch of numbers onto the URL so it can’t verity. Here’s what I get.
    I changed the URL to this http://frannie84.wordpress.com/google8b648617fcb5d715-html/
    and this is the URL they want me to verify
    http://frannie84.wordpress.com/google8b648617fcb5d715.html
    But for some reason it isn’t verifying… what did I do wrong?

  15. Nevermind I did it sorry!

  16. I’m having the same problem as frannie84 did. What am I doing wrong?

    • Do you see the mistake that Frannie84 has made. It should be google8b648617fcb5d715.html
      instead of google8b648617fcb5d715-html/. You’ll get different codes from Google and use it to create a file name. Then follow this post to finish your steps. It should work. Hope it helps.

  17. I get this, Lanna, but it refuses to allow me to change the page’s extension.

    When I set the URL to “http://thepicturesthatmove.wordpress.com/google5be6334a5a396ed1.html” wordpress automatically defaults it to “http://thepicturesthatmove.wordpress.com/google5be6334a5a396ed1-html/” and then Google can’t find it.

  18. hey, I can’t do that? I have also face the “frannie84″ s problem? What can I do?

  19. I can’t upload the html file which is given by Google in the Google Webmaster Tools Page. Because it only have the following formate: “jpg, jpeg, png, gif, pdf, doc, ppt, odt, pptx, docx. ”

    What can I do now for this problem? Please answer… :)

  20. Announcement:
    Since Google changed its algorithm in October, 2009, this method does not work any more. It will remain to be a mystery till one day I find a solution for it.

  21. thanks for the tips! they really helped

  22. Hello,

    Well I thought this was all brillant and followed to the note and doesn’t work. It tells me: ‘Verification failed. Your verification file redirects to a disallowed location. ‘ What am I doing wrong??

    • This method used to work but not any more. See the update.

      Your web site also led to an error – Oops! Internet Explorer could not find your page.

  23. In my opinion you are mistaken. Write to me in PM, we will talk.

    • Do you know something that I don’t know? Why not tell us here?
      By the way, I took a look at your web site. I think you should have an about page on your site. People will buy from you if they know you better. Otherwise they think you’ll try to take their money and run away. Just my two cents.

  24. Hi Lanna

    Thanks for your comments. You suggested ‘an about page.’ I am a little blog dumb can you help. What do I need to do next. Not really ‘selling’ myself as I have a permanent position but certainly want my blog to be well received so appreciate any advice on this ‘about page.’ Help.

    Thanks,
    Paula

    • Hi Paula,

      Thanks for stopping by again. I saw you have fixed your website address error.

      About “an about page”, in general, every blog or website should have an about page. Trying to hide is not the way to succeed online nowadays.

      If you want to know what should be included in an about page, here is the article for it:

      What Should be Included in Your About Page?

  25. Amazingly WordPress has a new method which is very easy to use. You might have noticed it by now but just in case anyone else seems confused about it there’s an option under wp-admin/tools.php to submit your site to three search engines :D!

    • Thank you so much for the info. It is really good news for everybody. Did you try it? Does it work?

      • It works very well! I’ve managed to get my blog straight at the top of google serches by just typing in a few key words. I haven’t tried to see if I show up on Yahoo or Bing, but for google it’s awesome. I guess too many people were getting confused and they came up with this very simple method. I’m glad that WP is adding some nice user-friendly options. I’m quite computer literate but I have to admit that without having spent too much time learning the nooks and crannies of WP I was a bit lost and luckily I found your posts. :)

  26. @frannie84 Hi the new tools options for search engine doesnt work for me. I used the meta tag and it was verified by google webmaster tools but when i typed it on google, nothing about my blog show up. When did your blog start to show up? do they need a few days to be able to add our blogs to the search engine?

  27. I have the same question as liaven…its verified but when trying to search google doesnt find any pages of mine…does it take some time?

  28. Hi Lanna,

    I followed exactly what you’ve listed above. But it seems I’m unable to verify my wordpress.com blog. Any other way to rid this of.

  29. my wordpress account not verifie, have any idea ?

  30. this so great. I will try it, thanks for sharing

  31. Lanna, thank you so much for explaining how and where to put the tag in the header.php file. I finally managed to understand what to do after trying every other option to verify my new wordpress site. People like you posting about how to solve digital problem that seem small when you know where to look but freaking HUGE when you are a layperson have saved my life countless times :-) but sometimes it takes some searching to get to the explanation that does it… (I spent two days trying to get google to verify my site pfff) Well, now I know for next time. Just wanted to say thanks!

  32. Going the opposite way . . . looking for verified celebs on Twitter . . . you can find Zooey Deschanel and thousands of other verified celebrities on Twitter using http://realtweeter.com

  33. Its very useful ..thank you so much buddy :-)

Leave a Reply

