What is StumbleUpon?

On August 18, 2008, someone referred this blog to StumbleUpon and one of the links was viewed 200 times the same day. I was shocked and could not believe that it’d be true. So I tried to find out what StumpleUpon is. According to Wikipedia – the free encyclopedia:

StumbleUpon is an Internet community that allows its users to discover and rate Web pages, photos, and videos. It is a personalized recommendation system which uses peer and social-networking principles.

Web pages are presented when the user clicks the “Stumble!” button on the browser’s toolbar. StumbleUpon chooses which Web page to display based on the user’s ratings of previous pages, ratings by his/her friends, and by the ratings of users with similar interests. Users can rate, or choose not to rate, any Web page with a thumbs up or thumbs down, and clicking the Stumble button resembles “channel-surfing” the Web. There is also one-click blogging built in as well.

In May 2007, StumbleUpon was acquired by eBay – a web company in which people buy and sell goods and service worldwide.

Do you use StumbleUpon? Why or why not? Please leave a comment below.

Update: I’ve just signed up an account with StumbleUpon and my url is http://onlinejourney.stumbleupon.com. So far I am pretty interested in learning it and I am wondering how it can drive more traffic to my site.

My Signature

Related articles
Beginners Guide to StumbleUpon
Is Stumbleupon traffic worth getting?

3 responses to “What is StumbleUpon?

  1. Hi
    The Stumbleupon thingy is new to me, but I have find that its really a cool tool.

    I’m on a search for more tips & tricks
    Let me know if you got some more.

    Thanks for links and explanation.
    And for the post too. 😉

    Amit

Leave a Reply

