How to Add a Sitemap to Your Blog/Website?

If you are searching an answer of how to add a sitemap to your blog/website, then this post is for you. Here I will talk about how to create a HTML sitemap so don’t confuse it with a XML sitemap. See the difference from this post: What is The Difference Between HTML Sitemap and XML Sitemap?

  • Next follow the instructions in one of the Free sitemap generators to generate a HTML sitemap for your blog/website.
  • Then log in to your blog/website’s dashboard and create a new page for it.
  • Every time when you create a new post you’ll need to update your sitemap. I just simply add my new post to my existing sitemap.

That is it. Some people like to place their sitemap in footer. That is because they believe that search engines will last crawl the sitemap before it exits the blog/website. I don’t know it is true or not but it is up to you to take the action.

Would you like to add a sitemap to your blog/website? Why or why not? Please leave a comment below.

My Signature

Related article
Generate Your HTML Sitemap Using Free Sitemap Generators Online

24 responses to “How to Add a Sitemap to Your Blog/Website?

  1. Pingback: Generate Your HTML Sitemap Using Free Sitemap Generators Online « My Internet Stuff

  2. Hi Lanna –
    How can I get a news sitemap on? Have created a news site map page via: [my domain name]news-sitemap.xml
    This isn’t working though to download to Google news. Somehow wordpress generator is truncating (shortening) it.
    Thanks big for any ideas, suggestions.

  3. Unfortunately at present we cannot use any plugins. We are using wordpress.com and the new formating at G News with sitemaps is now presenting us with new problems via configuration. We are working on a beautiful new format for our site that will be using wordpress.org. Our latest article though is not reaching G News like all past articles have.

  4. def helpful for me! it answered the question that nobody else could answer for me, thanks!

  5. Nice write up…ordinarily I never response to these items but this time I will, Offers Many thanks for that important entropy.

  6. Nice info 🙂 Thanks for sharing

  7. i am using blogger my url is http://jobs4abhiyanta.blogspot.com how can i make sitemap for it i have done it manually is it correct to do so

  8. Yes , I have gotten a right new from them.

  9. Hi,Lanna. Thanks for your info. Can i give you a suggestion? The site of head image is not that suitable. By the way, what do you think of this free tool-Xml sitemap?

    • Thanks for visiting and leaving comment here. It’s been long time that I didn’t touch this site. One day I may find a suitable image for this site.

      About Xml sitemap I am not familiar about it. It seems it is useful.

  10. yah its realy helpfull and easy language.

    Thank,s

  11. Hi. Thanks for the helpful article. By any chance is there a way to do this but so the site map on your website updates automatically?

    • If you are using the self-hosting WordPress, then your site map will be updated automatically each time you create a new post. For WordPress.com, this is the only way I know so for.

Leave a Reply

