How to Add a MyBlogLog Widget to A WordPress.com Blog?

I know adding a MyBlogLog widget to a WordPress.com blog is a very basic thing to do. But lately someone emailed me and asked me to help him out of how to add “Join My Community – MyBloglog” banner to his site. Actually it is the same principle as of adding a MyBlogLog widget to a WordPress.com blog. I used to direct my readers to a website that tells them how to do that, but for some reason that website is no longer existing. So now I have to create my own instructions here:

  1. First you need to have a MyBlogLog account.
  2. Then log in to your MyBlogLog account.
  3. Under My Sites and Services, click on the site you want to add a widget to.
  4. Click on Widgets under your blog’s title.
  5. A new page will open, highlight the codes that it provides and hold Ctrl and hit C at the same time to copy them.
  6. Now log in to your WordPress.com account
  7. On the left hand side, click on Appearance, and click Widgets.
  8. A new page will open, find Text Widget and drag it under Sidebar 1 or Sidebar 2.
  9. Give it a title as you wish and paste the codes that you’ve copied earlier in the text Widget.
  10. Make sure you click on the Save button to save it.

If you want to add “Join My Community – MyBlogLog” button to your site, only step 4 and step 5 you’ll need to follow:

  1. See step 1 above
  2. See step 2 above
  3. See step 3 above
  4. Click on Buttons instead of Widgets here.
  5. A new page will open, choose the button as you wish, and hold Ctrl and hit C at the same time to copy the codes.
  6. See step 6 above
  7. see step 7 above
  8. see step 8 above
  9. see step 9 above
  10. see step 10 above

So it is pretty easy right? It is mostly for newbies. Please leave a comment below.

My Signature

9 responses to “How to Add a MyBlogLog Widget to A WordPress.com Blog?

  1. Pingback: Can You Add Widgets to WordPress.com Blog? « My Internet Stuff

  2. Thanks Lanna…great site you got here

  3. Thank you very much for these steps. really a lot of help!

  4. Unfortunately wordpress.com does not support javascript in the widget. MyBlogLog recommend to use image-based widget, but there are still some errors. Do you have any other way?
    Thank you.

    • You can still have an image-based widget. I did that a while ago – it is the very basic one. I took it down because it shows black background that I don’t like.

  5. im going to save this one,12 like ittttttt !

Leave a Reply

